Lost Souls

by Logan Druckman

Expanding beyond the queer themes of this particular text, I would encourage people to read the following autobiographical short story “Enough Rope” written by Poppy Z. Brite.

http://www.poppyzbrite.com/rope.html

In her story, she describes her complicated gender identity, and having grown up feeling as though she were a gay man trapped in a woman’s body, but not in the same way that someone we would confidently label as “transgender,” or not exactly.

Reading this, do you feel that what she says about her life experiences impacted the creative process?   Does this explain some of the genderf*cking that goes on with her characters?  vWhat about her propensity to sort of blurt things out and then keeping moving on (like Jesse mentioned in class about Jessy and her father’s relationship)…?

“My only explanation, inadequate as usual, was that I’d just never felt like a woman…  All I could say was that some people appear to identify strongly with their born gender, and I wasn’t one of them.  I didn’t ‘enjoy being a girl.” Nor was I a tomboy; I was the kid forging notes to excuse myself from gym class, reading my library book on the sidelines while the other little savages fought over some ridiculous ball (Brite, Enough Rope).”

Brite tells her story in snapshots, much like the way we receive information about characters in the novel.

Snapshot,age 13: Caught by other kids reading a book about gay and lesbian history on the schoolbus.  They already know I’m a geek.  Now I get to be a gay one.  A living, mouth breathing teenage Hell ensues for the next for years.  Saying ‘ I don’t consider that an insult’ does no good at all; explaining ‘I’m not a lesbian, I’m a fag’ does even less (Brite, Enough Rope). “

“Only Zillah’s hands gave away his gender; they were large and strong and heavily veined beneath the thin white skin.” Lost Souls, p 6.

“I’m going to be a vampire daddy.’  It was all she had spoken of for weeks.  Finding a vampire to bite her, turning her into one, drinking the blood of others…” Lost Souls, p 77.

Does what Brite share about her life give any insight into the style or flow of her writing? Particularly her fact-giving/narrative style?


About this entry